• The Miami Seahawks were charter members of the All-American Football Conference (AAFC), helping to launch the new upstart league in 1946. The Seahawks were the first major professional sports franchise in Miami, and were the first professional football team in the state of Florida.
  • Saddled with $350,000 in debt, the franchise was confiscated by the AAFC after the end of the season, and its assets were purchased by a group of entrepreneurs who re-organized it as the original incarnation of the Baltimore Colts.
  • Florida would not have another major league-level football team until the American Football League added the Miami Dolphins in 1966.